Day 27: A Short Reflection on My Wedding Annviersary

I woke up smiling this morning. Not simply for reaching the end of the school week, but it’s my wedding anniversary. Today made 16 years since my wife and I were married on a Saturday night in New York City.

Reflecting on our 16 years this morning, I though about how lucky I am to marry such a brilliant, passionate and caring person, who also happens to be my best friend. Thinking back on our marriage and engagement, I was reminded of the genesis for the words I inscribed inside her engagement ring. The words came from a conversation my wife and I had prior to our engagement.   They came from a discussion that many couples  have when they dating for a while, where was our relationship going.

I was happy having the discussion because I was planning to propose a few months later.  As the conversation progressed, I wanted to let her know that she was the ‘one’. However, I couldn’t use those words. The phrase wasn’t me. They sounded corny. Saying ‘I could see myself spending the rest of my life with her’ didn’t sound much better.  So, I went for something that was not necessarily articulate, but simple.

I said “You’re the ‘it girl’”. She knew exactly what I meant.

As I get ready to go out to celebrate my anniversary with my wife, those words inscribed inside her engagement ring are just as true 16 year later.

She’s still my ‘it girl’.

2 thoughts on “Day 27: A Short Reflection on My Wedding Annviersary

Leave a Reply

